Blue badge

Options
Lolabilly
Lolabilly Member Posts: 41
edited 18. Dec 2012, 18:19 in Living with Arthritis archive
So I received a diagnosis from my consultant , I'm not sure how to get a blue badge or anything along those lines. How do I go about getting a written letter from the docs? I'm very new to this :(

Comments

• barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello Lolabilly
    If you dont get DLA you can still go to the GOV UK site and fill out a form for a blue badge.they will forward it to your council who will probably write to your GP to see how far you can walk without pain and other info
    I hope this helps you, and sorry if you are new then welcome from me xx
    Love
    Barbara
  • Lolabilly
    Options
    Thank you Barbara :) I'm going to go see my doctor so il talk to him
    About it too :)
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options
    Hello Lolabilly, I too live in Ipswich and when I needed a BB I rang the local Social Services office (but this was a good few years ago). Your GP should be able to help though and I hope he / she does. Good luck with your application. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • Lolabilly
    Options
    Thank you dd :) I think I spoke to you before on my old user name nice to speak to you again!
  • sheenakt
    sheenakt Member Posts: 51
    Options
    Hi

I rang the BB helpline number, given to me from my local library, I have been approved for the badge and they didn't even say they'd be contacting my GP or anyone else for that matter. I've paid for the badge but haven't received it yet, it seems too easy to get one........... hoep you are sucessful. It will help me so much in getting to work.

S xx
  • Rewter
    Rewter Member Posts: 77
    Options