What can I do if my employer does not act on OH advice?

Options
teresagrove
teresagrove Member Posts: 35
Hi everyone,

I have recently had my second hip replacement (7 weeks ago) and am awaiting my first knee replacement in 3-6 months time.

I have been a teacher for 34 years and aim to return to work in between hospitalisation and recuperation periods.

This is fully supported and indeed recommended by my consultant and OH services employed by the council.

OH have recommended that I return to work with amended duties with caveats relating to my disability - I have severe degenerative OA and degenerative cartilage disease which is believed to be congenital.

I find stairs very difficult ( our school is built on a hill so stairs everywhere and no lift)

My consultant and OH say I should avoid bending, stooping and constantly getting up and down from a chair or the floor - recommendations are that I should teach 1:1 or small groups only

School's answer to this is to say that they cannot afford financially for me to undertake such work (although a supply teacher is teaching children on a 1:1 basis) on my return to work they want me to class teach 5-6 year old children - with an assistant in the morning only,

I am at my wits end! Any advice gratefully received

Teresa

Comments

• dibdab
    dibdab Member Posts: 1,498
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi there,
    As I teach Y1 I understand where you're coming from. I wonder if you have asked your union for advice? When I was struggling with issues related to my RA the union gave me some useful advice...... not sure what else to suggest but hope you get some understanding and resolution.

Deb x
  • GraceB
    GraceB Member Posts: 1,595
    Options
    Surely there's a short answer to this?