Hello all

Options
jarvis483
jarvis483 Member Posts: 7
edited 21. Feb 2013, 15:35 in Say Hello Archive
Hello everybody on this forum.

My name is Martin Jarvis an i am 22 years old from Oldham near Manchester.

I have has inflammatory arthritis since the age of 17/18.
leading to Osteoarthritis.

Unfortunately it settled in my right hip joint at around 19. with medication and steroid injections etc it was kept under control to begin with. But with me being a young lad, i didnt take the disease seriously and had a major flare up resulting in me being off work for 3 months.

At this time i was a Prison Officer and so had to give up my job because i was unable to carry out my duties. this lead to a boring office job that i hated.

I then applied to university and began my degree. My condition was controlled until recently. i have had another flare up.

The arthritis has now attacked my left hip joint as well as my right hip joint. (brilliant) Ive been told to expect a double hip replacement within the next 10 years.

so thats my story. quite long winded but i dont think ive missed any essential details.

I have previously applied for DLA and a blue badge and was rejected at the first hurdle for both.
I am considering re-applying for both again as my condition has become alot worse now. if i am rejected, should i appeal or ask for a medical assessment etc?

i think my age may have played a part in being rejected but could never be sure of this.

so hello everybody.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options