MTX injection

Options
Starburst
Starburst Member Posts: 2,546
edited 18. Mar 2013, 05:23 in Living with Arthritis archive
Does anyone else find that injections can be fiddly little so-and-sos? I can't open the needles, (require assistance) can't screw the needle to the syringe (require assistance) and now, they've changed syringe, so that's really hard work too! I am loathe to return to the tablets as they gave me side effects and I am also loathe to get the nurse to do them every week. I asked at the pharmacy for a different type of syringe and they huffed and puffed and sighed and said no! Any tips gratefully received? :D

Comments

• scattered
    scattered Member Posts: 326
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Your rheumatologist can prescribe a different type of injection system called Metoject where the syringe is whole and comes preloaded with your MTX dose. You just take it out of the package and inject, no fiddly bits! I've been using Metoject for 3 years although it may be that your health authority are saving money prescribing the other method, so you might have to stamp your feet a bit. The Metoject was created to make self-injecting simpler so you wouldn't have to fight with your meds.

Might be worth asking about, especially if you say you're not able to take your MTX with the current system.
  • toady
    toady Member Posts: 2,181
    Options
    I have metoject after using 2 different types of syringe, not out of choice but because hospital kept changing supplier. :roll: Putting on your own needle was fiddly, but the only thing I don't like about metoject is that they can leak - ie when you take the lid off a 'bead' of liquid can form at the end of the needle. Not always (rheumy nurse warned me about this, they're aware of it). I get round this by always storing the syringes in their boxes head up so to speak, so the liquid isn't draining up to the needle. Seems to help but I don't know how scientific it is!