Effects of long term use of Prednisolone and Methotrexate

Options
peterwicks
peterwicks Member Posts: 19
edited 21. Apr 2013, 15:58 in Living with Arthritis archive
My wife Sylvia has suffered RA for over 20 years now and her main medication has been 12.5mg of Methotrexate once a week and 7.5mg of Prednisolone on a daily basis.Not for the fist time Sylvia has been experiencing strange mood swings which include wanting to commit suicide and harming herself, plus floods of tears and just recently mouth ulcers and loss of memory.After contacting our local GP and presenting him with all her symptoms he dismissed the fact that it could be either of the two medications she is taking...even after he had been shown the medications side effects leaflet which states everything I have said in black and white and suggested that she should seek the service of a Psychiatrist!...As a retired research technician I find these so called doctors of medicine a danger to the public because of thier closed mind attitude to evidence that stares them in the face....your views would be welcomed

Comments

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,453
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Oh Peter you must be so worried!!

Are you going to go back to the GP and ask for some help?

People often mention mouth ulcers and mood swings too.....is there maybe another GP you could see at your practise?? or plan B the rheumatological team?

Her symptoms can't be ignored if she feels suicidal! Do you feel ok to cope with all this?? There is a helpline number here you can ring (at the top of this page) and of course the samaritans 24 hours a day (08457 909090).

Love

Toni xxx
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    Options
    Hello Peter and a warm welcome from me, too.