Knee Aspiration advice

Options
kate21
kate21 Member Posts: 24
edited 20. Apr 2013, 21:19 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello everyone,
Glad to see this place is still as busy and friendly as always. :D

Please skip to knee aspiration part if you like

(I do apologise for having been away for so long. :oops: I was diagnosed sero-neg RA in 2006 at age 19 and used to come here often for support - so thank you to everyone who helped me so much back then.

Since then I had that diagnosis taken away from me and replaced with another one, which I hope explains my absence! A new Rheumy was appaled no-one had noticed how severley hypermobile I was and diagnosed me with Hypermobility Syndrome (Ehlers Danlos Hypermobility Type) - as the reason for all my problems. As I have been being treated for hypermobility only for a few years now - I felt like a bit of a fraud here at Arthritis Care! :oops:

However, current rheumy was recently rather surprised by the size of my knees, which apparently can't be explained by the hypermobility - despite frequent knee-cap subluxes and dislocations. So here I am again - welcoming back the diagnosis of Sero-neg RA! :lol: At least I know it's a friendly place to be)

So, to the knee aspiration. Had my knees drained :o and steroids injected yesterday - except that there wasn't anything to drain?! Last time I had it done, 5 or so years ago, it took them ages to get all the fluid out. But yesterday, a few drops and that was it, despite my knees being huge. I don't really understand how this can be - what is the swelling made up of if not fluid? Can anyone help me understand this? (The Dr explained something but I was still partly under the influence of the gas and air :lol: - so can't remember! :oops: )