Anyone had similar experience?! Psoriatic arthritis.

Options
ali87uk
ali87uk Member Posts: 17
edited 23. Apr 2013, 12:23 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi,

I'm 25, and it took 2 and half years of random back and front pain to be diagnosed with psoriatic spondylitis... even though I don't really have psoriasis and was once told may have it on my scalp but has cleared up now.
I am HLA B27 positive, and have pain mainly in sacro-iliac joint on right. I have read an injury can trigger it, with me it all started after pushing patients on trolleys (I work in a hospital).

I am on depomedrone injections, take amytriptaline every night (10mg). But I have occasional flare ups, such as this weekend.

I just wondered if anyone had had similar experiences and how they cope with it, what helps etc?

Thanks in advance x

Comments

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,453
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Ali

Are you on any DMARDs? Sulphazalazine, methotrexate (MTX), etc??

Just wondering as most with PsA on here are to control most of the disease....
  • ali87uk
    ali87uk Member Posts: 17
    Options
    No nothing like that at the moment, we were going to see how steroid jabs went as diagnosed last October x
  • DebbieT
    DebbieT Member Posts: 1,033
    Options
    Hi,

I had my PsA diagnosis around the age of 36/7. I was put on methotrexate & Sulfasalazine the same day that the Rheumatologist gave me the diagnosis.

I would have expected you to be put on a anti-inflammatory like ibuprofen & maybe even just paracetamol depending on how bad your breakthrough pain is!!

Have you ever tried using a TENS machine for back pain? I find it quite helpful.

Good luck & please keep us posted :) x
    Healing Hugs
    Debbie.x
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    Options