Sulfasalazine

Options
Debev64
Debev64 Member Posts: 4
edited 20. Sep 2013, 09:11 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello. I wondered if anyone knows if tingling under the skin is a side effect of this drug. I'm new to this drug (third week) and I've noticed this sensation under my skin for the past week or so. (I'm already taking Hydroxychloroquine.)

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello it's nice to meet you and I hope that the forum can help. I was put onto sulph many years ago, I did not experience the tingling that you mention and have never taken hydroxy but I do know that people can react so differently to a med or combination of meds: one man's bliss is another's poison.

When I began sulph I bruised mightily (from the waist down) for weeks, for others on here headaches and / or nausea were a factor, but if you can persevere then maybe it could be the combination for you. We all tread a fine line between reasonable and unreasonable side-effects but if you are in doubt then please contact your rheumatology helpline (if you have one). How often are you having bloods taken? DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • Debev64
    Options
    Every two weeks at the moment.
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,716
    Options
    Hello and welcome from me too. Sorry, I've never been on sulph. I've taken hydroxy for years with no side effects.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • dibdab
    dibdab Member Posts: 1,498
    Options
    Hello and welcome,

I take sulfasalazine in combination with hydroxyl and methotrexate, it has never made me tingle, but does give me a decidedly dodgy tummy on occasions :cry: .
    Maybe it's worth ringing your rheumatology helpline and asking their advice?