TKR

Options
Foxmyster
Foxmyster Member Posts: 19
edited 18. Nov 2013, 13:30 in Living with Arthritis archive
Just started using this site, I've had knee problems since I was 13 years old I tore my right cartlidge I've had 3 keyhole operations over the years and most of my cartlidge removed. My knee got worse over the years very painful I've had arthritis for a few years now and it can be crippling so back to the doctors and then of to hospital had all sorts of X-rays now waiting for MRI scan but my consultant thinks TKR is the way forward!!!. Going back to see him next Monday, I've been told I could be out of work for 2/3 months, I'm a self employed carpenter are my days of cutting wood up ? Any TKR builders out there ? Many thanks for reading. Foxy.

Comments

• elainebadknee
    elainebadknee Bots Posts: 3,703
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Foxy

I would say your days of certain aspects of carpentry are up. Once you get your new knee they don't advise you kneel on it and even standing on it for long periods can be sore. Of course it all depends on how fit you are and Im assuming quite fit given your occupation. I'd also say the 2-3 months out of work is your surgeon being conservative with that, but yet again everyone is different. I wasn't anywhere near ready to drive, walk any distance etc at 3 months..
    It sounds as if your surgeon is supportive. I don;t know what age you are, Im again presuming similar to myself, I'm now 45 had TKR last year..

Good luck

Elainexx
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    Options
    Hello Foxy and a warm welcome from me..
    Sorry you have struggled so long with your knee..it must be so hard when you are working... I cant offer any advice but I see Elaine has :D hopefully you can get something done very soon...wishing you well with it all x
    Love
    Barbara
  • marrianne
    marrianne Member Posts: 1,161
    Options