Still in really bad pain - any suggestions please

Options
valde
valde Member Posts: 271
edited 25. Nov 2013, 06:51 in Living with Arthritis archive
Good evening - I am back again. Pain has been cronic today and it has kept me on sofa feeling awful. I am not good with pain and looking for suggestions. I know others out there are in same boat but unfortunately I feel sorry for myself and am having trouble pulling my self out of it. Pain since 27 Oct. GP said it is a severe flare up and has written to Rheumy for urgent appointment. Don't know how long I will have to wait. He told me to take Naproxen twice a day and prescribed paracetamol/codine to take 2 up to 4 times a day. Shoulders, tops of arms, wrists and hand and back. I started these on Friday, am I expecting too much too quick. I am using De..He..massaging into areas affected. I have tried frozen peas and ice gel to no avail so at moment house really stinks with De..He.. I bought the gel sold in Ireland and that did not work for me. Please what does other people do to ease pain. Sorry I am moaning again but feel really low. Any suggestions would be so welcome until this passes and I see consultant. I am looking forward to going to bed and sleep but not looking forward to getting up in morning, Thank you all

Comments

• thistlegirl
    thistlegirl Member Posts: 229
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Valde,
    I would suggest you go back to your GP and say the co-codamol isn't working, What strength did he give you?
    Your GP can add to your pain regime without having to wait for the rheumy appointment. Co-codamol is "lower lever" on the pain meds front so if it isn't working tell him, there is other ones for him to try.
    I find cold packs can help my joints, 10min on, 10mins off, and repeat.
    If cold isn't working for you what about heat pack or baths?