Taking a treatment break

Starburst
Starburst Member Posts: 2,546
edited 22. Dec 2013, 07:38 in Living with Arthritis archive
Evening all,

I'm sorry I haven't been around that much. Hope you're all doing ok. I'm so close to finishing this term of uni/placement and it's all I can do to keep my eyes open!

I started my first anti TNF at the end of August. There's been a huge improvement in RA symptoms but unfortunately, I've been vomiting on and off for nearly 4 months. We've tried different things; reducing MTX and trialling various anti-sickness tablets but it's got worse and worse. :( It's not a common side effect but they feel it could be an interaction between meds, so I'm taking a break from the cimzia and being reviewed at the end of January.

I'll be pretty gutted if it is the cimzia, the thought of my RA returning is not a pleasant prospect because I was so unwell before. On the other hand, if it's not the cimzia, it will be a bit worrying and I desperately want the vomiting to stop. So, I'm in limbo land and a tad miserable about it to be honest. The fact that I have a chest infection as well as my first flare up since starting cimzia probably isn't helping either!

However, in Sophie style, I shall keep plodding along, doing my best and we shall see what the new year brings.

Much love to all. :candycane:

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Sophie, I apologise for not replying before now but I have been rather pre-occupied with house-moving nonsense.

I remember this happening to me too - treatment breaks were a fairly constant happening before I settled on the tarnished silver bullet of humira, meth and sulph. I wonder if the cimzia could be better supported by anj alternative to meth? They are out there but this tweaking process is very tiresome.