Wearing Boots !!!

dalaney
dalaney Member Posts: 22
edited 25. Dec 2013, 18:16 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi I am sure this has probably been discussed a million times but as a newbie i would welcome any advice. As a hip sufferer i have found it increasingly difficult to wear any sort of footwear that requires help from my hands so most are slip on etc BUT I love wearing flat boots with leggings but struggle so much to zip my left one up I live alone with my doggy and she is no help at all bless her !! Is there any contraption thatwould help with my zip i have tried a coat hanger but its too thick and wont hook in the zip bit. Currently I can only wear my boots if I have a friend or family over so they can zip it up and then I have to remember to get them to unzip it before they go , I drove home the other night with one boot unzipped and was panicking as i needed petrol but didnt want to get otu looking so silly !! Oh why do simple things that most people take for granted cause such dilemmas?? Any advice please ...

Comments

• Michelle63
    Michelle63 Member Posts: 63
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Zips are tricky for me too but the worst dilemma has to be flushing the toilet. I can use the pull chain type but the small handles are a nightmare for both hands. Can be a tad embarrassing :xmas_cry:
  • salamander
    salamander Member Posts: 1,906
    Hi dalaney, I think I remember seeing a device on one of the disability aids websites. Can't remember which one but a bit of googling should help,
  • pooty
    pooty Member Posts: 6
    Oh how I feel for you and your boot dillema. I have the same problem I have to make sure my boots are long enough for me to reach them and pull them up on my right side. Short boots are a no no as are zipped ones. Maybe you should try pull on ones that are tall. Its still a struggle but at least you dont have to wait for company before you can fasten them :hoho: xx
  • lululu
    lululu Member Posts: 486
    Hi delany