Sharp wrist spasms

Options
Mat48
Mat48 Member Posts: 1,075
edited 16. Jan 2014, 11:05 in Living with Arthritis archive
The other night when I was at the gentle exercise class that I've been attending on and off for a few years - I noticed a sharp pain in my wrists when I was doing a fairly basic stretch holding the bars. Five minutes later we were using hand weights and I chose the lightest - really no heavier than a bottle of water. I suddenly felt the most excruciating pain in the side of my left wrist that went up into my knuckles and was so startled that I dropped the weight - narrowly missing my foot!

The pain was like a spasm and was gone ten minutes later although I could still feel a slight echo in my knuckles and wrist for the next 24 hours. Was this just a one off trapped nerve perhaps or do you think or was it RA waving at me? I had a sore left knee all of yesterday and the toe pad on my right foot is playing up a little but other than this I'm good on the pain front and very used to these marginally strenuous exercises.
If you get lemons, make lemonade

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Oh Mat, how are we supposed to know what caused what and what it might herald? :? We are not doctors and each and every one has symptoms unique to us. Don't forget that you are also ageing. If you are relatively pain-free then why you are risking exacerbating things by doing 'unnatural' movements with weights, especially if you attend these classes on an intermittent basis? No wonder things twanged - I suspect that any form of gentle exercise is better done regularly than every now-and-again. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • Mat48
    Options