Help required - I have so many questions.......

Options
VIKI131182
VIKI131182 Member Posts: 2
edited 17. Jan 2014, 13:10 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, this is all very new to me and I am unsure how to get started in this forum but here goes........

I am 31 and diagnosed with RA in summer 2013. At first I was releived that I finally knew why I was experiencing so much random pain and swellings etc. I was prescribed Methotrexate, Hydroxychloquine, Folic Acid and pain killers. As far as I know these are helping me but I have only been on them for roughly 6 months and have just recently had my dosage upped. I am having flare ups still and my employers (I work as a secretary) have not been supportive. I am setting off 'absense triggers' left right and centre and am due to be placed on a 'stage one warning' next week. I do not get paid for being off work unwell and so I do not take it lightly when I need time off, but at the same time, I am finding that some flare ups are much more painfull, stressful and lengthy than others and are now causing me severe financial problems. I am not signed off long enough to be able to claim any benefits/assistance (as far as I know) and I cannot seem to find the right balance with my employers whilst my body gets used to this condition as well as my mind, and I am now facing the extra stress and anxiety that comes with approaching this topic with my boss.

As I said, this is my first time on any forum of any kind so any kind of contact from anyone who can offer any words of encouragement or advice would be most welcome. And of course, when I know more about my own situation, one day I will be able to offer advice of my own! :)

Looking forward to a response x

Comments

• thistlegirl
    thistlegirl Member Posts: 229
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    hi ,
    I am 35 and have had RA since I was a baby, so it is called juvenile RA. I use that as an excuse for behaving like a juvenile often!