Writing a book - opinions wanted please.

Options
Helenbothknees
Helenbothknees Member Posts: 487
edited 5. Feb 2014, 03:46 in Living with Arthritis archive
Greetings all! As some of you know, I had a bilateral TKR a little over 18 months ago. And, as probably fewer of you know, I'm a freelance writer with several hundred published articles and quite a few books to my credit. And recently I've been wondering...should I write a book about my TKR experiences? It might help people, which would be nice. It might also make me a little money, although we're not talking bestsellers here of course. :)

Unfortunately I didn't keep a comprehensive diary at the time - no way I would have had the energy to do that! But my posts on here form something resembling a diary. So I've searched, found them, copied a lot, put the whole thing together, and started using them as the basis for editing and adding to "Diary of my Bilateral Total Knee Replacement" , which will probably be about 20,000 words long and be self-published as an ebook on Amazon (Kindle) and Smashwords (other ebook formats). I've published ebooks before, so this part is no big deal for me.

What I want to know is the following...
Firstly, TKR veterans, and others who may have the op in the future, what would you/did you want to know in advance? Would it have been helpful to read someone else's experiences, bearing in mind that every TKR is different and everyone's recovery is different. With that in mind, I will of course emphasise over and over again that this is a purely personal account, others will have different experiences, and I'm not a doctor or medically qualified. But I know people don't read prefaces, and....will I conceivably do more harm than good, and I wouldn't want that of course?