Gum disease (p.gingivalis) and rheumatoid arthritis

bluefish
bluefish Member Posts: 16
edited 3. Mar 2014, 09:10 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all
Any thoughts on all this in news on link between gum disease and rheumatoid arthritis.
I have juvenile onset, sero positive RA described by consultants as moderate to severe, am on methotrexate, humira and sulfasalazine. Have recently had bleeding gums and dentist thinks early signs of gum disease.
Am understanding that bacteria p. gingivalis can be theoretically killed with chlorhexidine mouthwash impeccable dental hygiene and anti biotics. Am not wanting to take anti biotics but looking into pro biotics and came across lactobacillus reuteri that I think help to combat p.gingivalis. Am experimenting with impeccable dental hygiene this mouthwash and trying to get hold of some of that pro biotic too. Feel like I'm doing a phd after all this research! But can't see that any of this will harm but am optimistic that it might help?
Any thoughts from anyone particularly in similar situation?

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,764
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I know there have been as few studies on the potential relationship between RA and periodontal disease but I've not heard of any conclusive link from a 'proper' piece of research. I don't think Arthritis Research UK has anything of huge import. However, good dental hygiene has got to make sense for everyone. I confess mine wasn't brilliant until the arrival of electric toothbrushes. I could finally reach all areas :lol: If using any strong mouthwashes etc it's probably best to check first with your dentist (who should be aware of what medication you're on), GP or pharmacist.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Cariad71
    Cariad71 Member Posts: 99
    Hey there bluefish,