Diclafenac V ibuprofen

Options
Settler
Settler Member Posts: 51
edited 15. Mar 2014, 06:01 in Living with Arthritis archive
I have been on diclafenac for about a year couldn't do without it, but it has some bad press, so yesterday changed to ibuprofen , any one else feel the same
Shirley

Comments

• hileena111
    hileena111 Member Posts: 7,099
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi
    It has had a lot of bad press.....but from what I can gather they are all bad for your heart....I'm not a doctor....so I would visit your GP and ask.
    I was on diclofenic and mine changed me onto naproxen
    Don't forget the stomach protector as well.!!!!! {no matter what anti inflammatory you take}
    I do think you need to chat this over with the GP

Love
    Hileena
  • Tubby
    Tubby Member Posts: 177
    Options
    I was on diclofenac for over a year but due to the 'bad press' I was moved on to naproxen. I really didn't get on with naproxen, feeling sick and general feeling of yeukiness so I returned to the GP. He said that diclofenac had had the bad press but that was only because they hadn't done a long term study on naproxen which had actually been on the market longer and was just as bad, they just hadn't proved it yet! He said that they were all as bad as each other so if I was happier on diclofenac then I should stay on it as the side effects were much the same. Ibroprofen is also pretty shocking on the stomach and nowhere near as good as diclofenac or naproxen. Whatever, keep taking the stomach protectors.
  • As5567
    As5567 Member Posts: 665
    Options
    I take a drug called Arcoxia, that also has some very bad press about all sorts of side effects. It works for me and is the only anti inflammatory which doesn't actually need any sort of stomach protector for long term use.

I think that all of these drugs have their bad and good sides, id just stick to what works for you and try not to worry what you see online/in the news.
  • Fionabee