Newly Diagnosed

Options
ambriel
ambriel Member Posts: 3
edited 11. Apr 2014, 03:31 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello, just thought I'd post an introductory message as I've just registered on the site.

I'm newly diagnosed with osteo-arthritis - just the last couple of weeks.

I've had concerns for a year or more but my GP didn't seem to think it worth doing anything about. It was only a month or so ago that a locum GP sent me for x-rays that confirmed it after the pains in my hands prompted me to go back.

My usual GP simply filed the x-ray report without even calling me! It was only when I pressed them that she told me it confirmed the diagnosis but didn't offer anything by way of treatment. I had to press her for pain relief for which I got a scrip for co-codamol.

It mostly affects me in the hands which is a problem because I write computer software for a living and so work at a keyboard most of the day. I also have pains in both hips and knees.

If that isn't enough I also have Raynaud's, was epileptic as a child, and suspect I probably have undiagnosed Asperger's.

Is this sort of antipathy normal with GPs? I got the impression that I should just put up with it and stop moaning.

Comments

• bubbadog
    bubbadog Member Posts: 5,544
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi, Welcome to the Arthritis Care forum family ambriel, you have come to the right place for support and help! we support and help each other and do have some fun from time to time. So if you need any questions answered or if you need any support we are here. Hope you will enjoy the site
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options