Numb Foot

Options
Pansy4
Pansy4 Member Posts: 11
edited 13. May 2014, 17:52 in Living with Arthritis archive
I went to my doctor with back pain and a numb left foot. She could find nothing wrong, and referred me to hospital physiotherapist. Do you think my numb foot is to do with the arthritis?

Comments

• elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Pansy

Having back pain and numbness in foot can be connected where a nerve is trapped. I have no medical knowledge though. It will probably take some time to get a physio appt on the NHS. If it was me and the symptoms deteriorate and I was worried by what was happening, I would take myself to A&E where more help is often available or get in touch with my GP again.

Elna x
    The happiest people don't have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

If you can lay down at night knowing in your heart that you made someone's day just a little bit better, you know you had a good day.
  • FionaP
    FionaP Member Posts: 39
    Options
    Hi Pansy,

I'm in agreement with Elna.

I have had surgery on my back and one of the first things that alerted doctors that things were getting worse was numbness on my leg and foot. Keep a close eye on things and if it gets worse go to A&E as if it is due to nerve damage you need to get it sorted quickly to prevent possible permanent damage to that nerve.

It may also be worth going to see an osteopath and getting a second opinion.

Fi
    x
    Fi
    x
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options
    Do you have any form of arthritis? I don't associate numbness with either of mine but it sounds more like a nerve thing to me - but I am not a doc. (For some reason I typed 'cod' instead - I'm not that either! :lol: ) Let's wait and see what the physio has to say first, they are knowledgeable people and may know where to refer you if they cannot help. Please let us know how you get on. DD