a new low, bath time woes

Options
Slosh
Slosh Member Posts: 3,194
edited 17. May 2014, 15:49 in Living with Arthritis archive
I'm sure others of you on here have had this problem but its my first time!

I have always loved long hot baths and now find them really relaxing and soothing on my neck and shoulders. I've just started being able to get comfy in the bath again after surgery and it's made me feel more like myself.

Ran a lovely hot bath today, got in and relaxed.
Then I tried to get out. There are handles set into the sides of my bath but even with these I just couldn't pull myself out becaue of the pain in my shoulders and they just didn't up to it.
I did (obviously) manage to get out in the end with a bit of manoeuvring but the whole thing was quite scary as I was on my own in the house.

Fed up as I'd just started to feel a bit more positive about things.

Sorry to waffle on but I just needed to get it off my chest.
He did not say you will not be storm tossed, you will not be sore distressed, you will not be work weary. He said you will not be overcome.
Julian of Norwich

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,714
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Call that a waffle :roll: Precise and to the point by my standards, Slosh :lol:

I have a bath lift courtesy of social services. I think most soc serv. areas are more likely to fit you a shower these days but I've had this and its predecessor for over 30 years. You can buy them from any good disability store. The one disadvantage is that you never get fully in the water and can't lie back - well, you can't with mine - but I'm very unsafe in a shower even with help.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Slosh
    Options
    Thanks SW