arthritis at 17 for 2 years and still struggling

Options
codie96
codie96 Member Posts: 6
edited 15. Aug 2015, 07:16 in Young people's community
Im really desperate for advice and help.
Im 17 and found out had I arthritis almost 2 years ago and I still find myself constantly depressed and upset about it. I have never been able to cope with it. I don't understand because Im such a bubbly loud energetic person but when it comes to specific situations I let my condition get the better of me.
My arthritis is in all off my joints but worse in my left knee, it is really sore, swollen and stiff. I was on methotrexate and sulfasalazine for almost a year whilst also having my knees drained (which was very uncomfortable) and a injection into my bottom. None of this has worked for me and I suffered quite badly with the side affects.
I used to work as a waiter but it all got too much being on my legs running around all day so I had to quit my job. I am applying now for jobs that are good for my health but having no luck and I really need to be earning money, please can anyone help?

thankyou!!!

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello codie96. I'm so sorry you're having such a hard time of things. Arthritis ata ny age is a lot to get ones head round but it is extra hard when you're young and all your mates have so much more energy than you do and don't really get the constant pain. I'm not young now though I was (15) when first diagnosed. Our young people do come and go rather more than those of us on the Living With Arthritis forum. I take that as a good sign that their meds are working well. However, we do have several young regulars on LWA so, if you re-post there, they will, hopefully see your thread and answer.

I'm a bit puzzled as to which meds you're on now. It sounds as if you no longer take methotrexate and sulphasalazine. is that right? If so, you will be suffering.