Hi newbie here!

Options
jamart
jamart Member Posts: 27
edited 15. Jun 2014, 05:52 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi I have had oa in my knees for about 4 years and had been taking naprozen until I started having stomach problems, then decided to stop taking them, I now just have paracetamol. Two years ago I started having problems with my ankle it turned out to be in my subtalar joint, I have had a cortisone injection in it that was done under local anaesthetic with xray assistance. It only lasted as a pain relief for about 2 1/2 weeks. :( I go back to see the consultant in july and I think he with suggest a fusion operation. I was wondering if anyone had had this done and what the outcome was, good or bad? I am in a lot of pain and do have a very bad limp which has slowed me down to a snails pace! Am 51.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello, it's nice to meet you but I am sorry you have had to find us. I have OA in a number of joints (thanks to my other arthritis) and took naproxen for some time - it did very little for me but I also took a stomach protector too - were you not given one? If not then that is not good practice. I now take diclofenac every now and then but again with a stomach protector. I have also had steroid injections and they have never made much difference to me - three days of slightly less pain and that was my lot. I'm not having those again. :lol: I cannot help on the surgery front not having had that kind. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • polly123
    polly123 Member Posts: 96
    Options
    Hi Jamart,

Didn't want to read and run this morning, and justed wanted to offer moral support. Don't have any experience of what you're struggling with, although I did change from naproxin to lodine which is much better for me - better on your stomach also. I'm sure someone with more experience will be along later

Polly