spondylolistheses, arthritis and fussion surgery?

delicatecloud
delicatecloud Member Posts: 16
edited 3. Aug 2014, 09:51 in Living with Arthritis archive
Dear all,

I hope everyone is doing well.
I was advised by my rheumatologist to have a fusion l5 s1 because the pain I am having comes from a spondylolistheses. I am so scared, could someone please, who hás had a fusion, tell me how it went after? How it was to recover, do you have a fairly normal ative life? My rheumatologist said i would recover quickly but he jokes so much to put me at ease that i am frankly scared of going ahead with it. I would be so grateful if someone could give me some confort please. Keep smiling.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Sorry, I've no experience of this delicatecloud, but bumping it up in the hope that someone else will. Unfortunately, it's weekend when not many look on here.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • delicatecloud
    Oh, it,s okay :) it is kind of you to answer even though you have no experience about it. I hope you are having a lovely weekend. :):):)
  • stickywicket
    Try this http://bit.ly/1keUHtK

It covers former threads on different kinds of fusion surgery but I'm sure your kind will be in there somewhere :)

Mod Edit
    Link shortened using https://bitly.com/shorten/
    Long links cause problems within some browsers
    Mod B
    Steven Wright
  • frogmella
    frogmella Member Posts: 1,111
    I have had two fusions.

The first was L5S1 and to be honest it was a nightmare! I got an infection (Do NOT shower for at least 10 days post op whatever they say!!) and it ended up on the hardware. Surgeon didn't believe me and I had repeated bouts of fever and pain for well over a year (I think more like 18 months or so) before he removed it.