Was i misdiagnosed? Also what can i take to ease pain?

Options
thevisi0nary
thevisi0nary Member Posts: 4
edited 8. Aug 2014, 14:27 in Living with Arthritis archive
Ill make this as quick as possible. I see a pyhsiatrist for slipped disc and sciatica pain. While going to him i asked if he could diagnose me with arthritis. I have been playing guitar for 8 years, i used to put huge demands on my fretting hand now there is what seems a permanent pain in the knuckle joint of the middle finger on my left (fretting) hand. There is no specific thing that eases the pain. For the most part it has not been limiting me lately but i would still like to figure out a way to make it go away, and what it is. Back on topic he had me get a blood test and said i came back negative for arthritis. Is it possible i could still have it? I dont have it anywhere else in my hands, just this finger. I have had it for a long time.

Should i get re diagnosed?

Also, what are the best supplements i could take to alleviate the pain? I tried glucosamine for month and a half, did not work.

Comments

• bubbadog
    bubbadog Member Posts: 5,544
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    It's best to see your G.P and ask for a referral to see an rhumatologist as we can't say yes or no as we aren't medical professionals. Hope this helps and you can find out once and for all.
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    Options
    Hello and welcome to the forum
    You could ask for an MRI of your back and ultrasound of your hands..blood test don't pick up on OA only inflammatory ones...good luck
    Love
    Barbara
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options