And now another cold...

Options
BreakingDawn
BreakingDawn Member Posts: 7
edited 21. Feb 2015, 11:35 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello all. I'm new to all this and still learning but does having inflammatory arthritis make you more prone to colds? It took 8 weeks to get over my last cold and now a week later I'm obviously coming down with another.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello Breaking dawn

Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums. As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.
    best wishes Mod on Friday
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options
    Hello again, it's nice to see you over here! No, it doesn't make you more prone, not until you are on the immuno-suppressant drugs. I haven't had a cold for some time now (I am on a triple therapy so my immune system is well and truly squashed) but I am assiduous about hand hygiene, I have anti-bac wipes (for door handles, table tops, handrails etc. when out and about) and hand gel in my bag; my husband is very good about his hand hygiene too: he's out and about in the world far more than me, has hand gel in his car and uses it at home.

This is the classic time of year for coughs and snuffles, and some of the bugs can take a long time to clear up even for those without health troubles. We are also used to living in warm, stuffy environs and sometimes don't dress as well as we could for the cold weather. We have to take preventative measures (as should every one else) but humans are germ factories - it always amazes me how many people don't use the hand gel in hospitals. DD