Good rheumy / clinic

Options
AlexeyB
AlexeyB Member Posts: 7
edited 6. May 2015, 03:57 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi All,

I have tried to look through the forums, but did not see any topics with good / bad experience with rheumatologists and clinics.

Do you know any good place to kick off your treatment plan? Not necessarily in UK. I'd be happy to hear from someone who has been in Europe's or Middle East hospitals (Israel maybe?)

Thanks!

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,714
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi AlexeyB and welcome to the forum. I've no experience of hospitals abroad but my own rule of thumb in the UK is to go for a good teaching hospital. I started my arthritic life in one and, some 50+ years later, I'm still with the same hospital having seen 2 rheumatologists retire. I've had 5 joint replacements in their orthopaedic dept. and all have been excellent. There is a perception that paying for treatment gets you a better deal. I have a son in USA and I'd strongly dispute that.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • theresak
    theresak Member Posts: 1,998
    Options
    I changed from my local hospital because of poor treatment, with the help of my GP, who was not satisfied with my treatment plan. I now travel 15 miles to a far better hospital - coincidentally, in view of Sticky's remarks - it is teaching hospital, and the care is first-class. My GP said to me that 'RA is for life - you need the best possible treatment.'
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options