Found out!

Options
LynneS
LynneS Member Posts: 26
edited 4. Jun 2015, 05:43 in Living with Arthritis archive
H Guys

As you know I'm new to this inflammatory arthritis lark, and not at all good about drug taking!! Although reading the posts about you guys overcoming/embracing your needle phobias, I probably just need to give myself a talking to :roll:

The first registrar I saw prescribed Plaquenil, which I took reluctantly, as I was fretful about the potential side effects with eyes.

I had a follow up appointment, following an ultrasound on my hands, and a month on the Plaq, and saw the head Rhuematologist who prescribed meth. When I was leaving the room, I asked if I had to keep taking the Plaq and the answer was yes! Anyways............ I visited my Doctor a week later to try and make sense of it all and told her I was really unhappy to be taking two lots of drugs and why couldn't I just try the meth to start with. She agreed so I stopped the Plaq.

To cut a long story short I saw the Rhuemy nurse yesterday, she took me through the ultrasound result, examined my hands, disappeared to see the consultant, came back and said I have to take the Plaquenil too.

I don't know why I feel so strongly about taking the Plaq, but I do! I guess I'm looking for some reassurance. Have any of you taken Meth and Plaq together? How have you found it? Did you manage to wean yourself off one or the other?

Sorry if I'm coming over like a 'petulant child', I guess I feel a bit like one when it comes to the Plaq :roll:

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Better to be reluctant than an inveterate pill gobbler :wink: but plaquenil is a very mild DMARD and, provided you have your regulare eye tests, is unlikely to cause problems. I've taken the two meds together for years and they do a good job in tandem.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • dibdab