How to treat a swollen knee best

Coffeecup
Coffeecup Member Posts: 16
edited 27. Aug 2015, 06:55 in Living with Arthritis archive
I am pretty new to all this so please forgive my ignorance. Still trying to get my head round it all.
My situation isn't too bad at all yet.
I have what might seem an obvious question.
My knees, esp my right knee, swell up sometimes, esp after driving.
So when I get out of the car I move around a bit etc.
Should I then rest it? Or keep moving?
Anyone got any idea how to ease the pain during driving?
I take Ibuprofen before hand. Have tried Voltarol gel, doesn't do anything.
The GP helpfully suggested cruise control , maybe he would like to pay for a new car.
I like driving! I want to keep on driving!
The pain sets in after about 30-40 mins.
Thankfully work only takes 15 mins
But my daughter with mental health issues is at uni, nearly 2 hrs away, and I try and see her quite a bit.
Thanks. :cheers:

Comments

• tedthered64
    tedthered64 Member Posts: 84
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi,
    There is no easy fix, especially with driving. I have suffered with these type of knee problems for years and know exactly how you feel when driving.
    Ask you're GP for strong pain relief, I use tramadol, take regular breaks if driving a long distance and consider anti inflammatorys.
    In the early stages I found heat pads and rest helped a lot.
    Ted
  • Slosh
    Slosh Member Posts: 3,194
    I don't have knee problems but have had to switch to an automatic car for other reasons. As well as heat packs, I currently have one round my neck and shoulders, what about trying cold packs (frozen peas are often reccomended ) and raising your legs.
    See your GP as well and see what else he/she can suggest.
    He did not say you will not be storm tossed, you will not be sore distressed, you will not be work weary. He said you will not be overcome.
    Julian of Norwich
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,760