Confused as to my next move (RA)

Options
toady
toady Member Posts: 2,123
edited 5. Oct 2015, 11:31 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all.

Having recently had a new rheumy, and a few developments, have reached a point where I don't know which way my RA is going so am after any opinions/experiences that chime in with my current situation.

Briefly (I hope) -

I've been doing well on Enbrel & MTX for 3 years, though less so recently/this year, general deterioration. When I last saw my old rheumy at the end of 2014, I had slightly raised ESR + CRP, my joints were warming & swelling here & there, & it looked like a case of 'your meds are wearing off'. I was given a steroid jab to see if I settled, & if I didn't, rheumy was already talking of probable change of meds.

Took forever to get a follow-up appt this year, but in July saw a new bod. Was expecting the same assessment as before, but the problem is, my bloods have settled, so according to new doc, I am not systemically inflammatory.

Have had fairly sudden weight loss, muscle loss, hair loss, skin problems, gut problems, all the things that accompanied my very-inflammatory stage, but with limited actual joint involvement, & good bloods. (Doc says the odd steroid jab I've had wouldn't be enough to keep things damped down if I was really going to 'set off' again badly.)

So.. in a nutshell, doc has handed the choice of do I change anti-TNF over to me, as they feel v reluctant to take me off something that's doing so well for my joints/bloods, to swap for something that may not even work. My joints are bothering me minimally, but the weight loss and gut problems certainly are. :( I am not eating or sleeping well, which is far worse than the odd dodgy joint.