Insurance quotes for RA sufferers.

Options
spidey23972
spidey23972 Member Posts: 21
edited 12. Sep 2015, 11:11 in Living with Arthritis archive
Having recently been diagnosed with RA I'm now having my first experience of disclosing my disease to a business, my car insurance company. Does everyone disclose this to companies that ask for any medical condition (yes I know it's the law)!! Once you disclosed your condition did premiums go up drastically on insurance policies? Can anyone suggest what companies do need informing? Sorry if posted in wrong forum.

Comments

• GraceB
    GraceB Member Posts: 1,595
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi,

I have a Motability car so don't hold my own private insurance car policy. However, I am a named driver on my partner's car insurance. We wrote to his insurance company to notify them of my Osteoarthritis and asked them to confirm in writing that this has been recorded by them. We got our response. We kept a copy of our letter and put this with the reply that we received and still have these to this day.

I'd err on the side of caution and tell them if it were me. However, I'd put it in writing, and send it recorded delivery so you can track the letter all the way through.

Hope you get this sorted.

GraceB
    Turn a negative into a positive!
  • villier
    villier Member Posts: 4,426
    Options