Best Gloves for Typing and Art?

ArtistBeej
ArtistBeej Member Posts: 4
edited 14. Oct 2015, 03:19 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi everyone, Ive just registered. Im hoping someone has good advice re this topic?

I am a professional Artist & Designer, have been doing it all my life since my first painting of a Vulcan bomber got hung on the wall at school age 7! :) And I guess repetitive stress over 30+ years of sign-writing, airbrush illustration and now over the past 15 yrs, computer work, have all led to problems. Been diagnosed with cervical spondylosis and has an operation this time last year to un-trap nerves in left hand/arm.

Typing at the moment is becoming difficult :( And with the weather getting colder literally overnight, well, you all know how that feels! So, Im looking for any advice on an excellent pair of gloves which will allow me to still paint, airbrush and type on the keyboard without the material being too thick.

Any advice would be massively appreciated as at the mo, Im really starting to struggle.

I have been on Naproxen for a long time but, having decided to try to go pill-free (including no anti-depressants now for 2 months or so) Im really feeling the pains, neck and hands especially :( I think I may have to go back to see Doc to get a prescription for Naproxen as it did seem to help. I don't like pain-killers as the Doc put me on Tramadol a couple of years ago and it took me a LOT of effort to get off those nasty opioids! Plus, I'd rather have a hang-over from alcohol any day, thanks!! ;)

Thanks for any help you may have :)

Beej

Comments

• LignumVitae
    LignumVitae Member Posts: 1,972
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Welcome to the forum! I'm no artist but I know cold hands aren't fun. If you can find them then thin silk liner gloves designed for ski-ing might be what you are looking for or other thermal liner gloves as sold in outdoor shops. They tend to be very thin.