Tips for work

Options
daniivca
daniivca Member Posts: 30
edited 3. Feb 2016, 02:51 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all I'm new to this so apologies if this is in the wrong section! I've lived with arthritis since I was 6 months old and I'm now 25. Due to the type (palindromic Rheumtism) I'm not in constant pain as it comes in flare ups. Over the years I've learnt to pace myself when I'm in a flare up and cope with pain somewhat. The only problem I have is that I'm in a very physically demanding job that involves bending and lifting. I was just wondering if any people out there have any tips on how to maybe manage my pain a little bit better and how to get people to maybe understand how that you may not see how much pain I'm in but it's there I'm not just been lazy by sitting down. Thanks in advance :D

Comments

• conway07
    conway07 Member Posts: 5
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi daniivca, I'm also new to this! Nice to meet someone who is a newcomer and also the same age, at least we have a few things in common. I've lived with Rheumatoid Arthritis from the age of 15 and like yourself am now 25. I wasn't quite aware of all the various types of Arthritis until I actually done some research to find out the list is very lengthy and covers many different variations. What type of medication have you been prescribed for your Arthritis? And are you on any pain relief? I totally understand where your coming from when you mention flare ups as they can present themselves at any time and its a mystery as to how long they will stay. As for your job, if it involves a lot of bending and lifting theres certainly going to be times that it will put pressure on your joints! If your worried about people judging you regarding your work and when you need to rest, it would maybe help if you explained your circumstances just to give them a better knowledge and to hopefully make you feel less uncomfortable when carrying out your work.