Hello

Chrissie
Chrissie Member Posts: 4
edited 22. Jun 2016, 19:03 in Say Hello Archive
Hi I'm a newbie, diagnosed 6 years ago with slight OA in the hips at 48 and just had a review to find its significantly worsened (which I guessed owing to the increase in pain and stiffness). I've found the website here really helpful and am about to start physio. Any tips on keeping the spirits up and pain management very gratefully received. I'm currently on some pain relief but wondered about AIDS like warming pads etc and whether people find them helpful. :bouncing-ball:
Thanks very much.
Chrissie

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Chrissie

Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums. As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

All best wishes Mod Christine
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hello Chrissie and welcome from me, too, though I'm sorry you qualified to join us :roll:

What helps tends to vary from one person to another though the things recommended for all are exercise(s) of the right kind, a sensible, Mediterranean-type diet, and a reasonable weight. You can find more info on all these if you click on the 'Managing Arthritis' tab above.

Heat or ice? Some prefer one and others the other. I think ice is better at reducing inflammation but, if it's just pain, heat can help.