Hello

vbell1982
vbell1982 Member Posts: 10
edited 7. Feb 2017, 06:06 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello Everyone.

I am 33 years old and have recently been diagnosed with Inflammatory Arthritis, after starting with swelling and pain in one knee back in May 2016. Since then it has spread to both knees, elbows, wrists and a little bit in my fingers. As I am new to all this and my consultant has been off work sick I have been seen by a series of locums. I am still feeling a bit confused by some of the information I have been given and wonder if anyone could offer any advice....

- Is Inflammatory Arthritis and actual diagnosis or just a broad description for a range of arthritis?
- How long did Sulfasalazine take to make an impact for you? I am in week 10 and currently feeling worse, not better.
- Any advice on any complementary therapies that worked for you? I am a bit of a skeptic but willing to try anything at this point.

Thanks so much.

V

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi vbell
    Welcome to our forum,thank you for telling us your story,pain is a most unpleasant experience and we all go through it at times. You will find everyone pleasant and informative and chatty,just pick a forum or several if you want and start chatting.
    All the best Christine :sun:
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi V and welcome to the forum :D

Inflammatory arthritis is quite a broad definition. It means they know you have arthritis and it's not OA but they are not sure which type – RA, PsA, AS etc etc. You can look up the various different types here https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/do-i-have-arthritis/a-z-of-types