Early arthritis

Options
Clay116
Clay116 Member Posts: 2
edited 10. May 2017, 14:47 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi I'm new to this I'm male 38 years old
I've been doing weight lifting for 15 years but last couple of years I've been getting pain in my right hand and thumb basically I've just got on with it as u do 😊😊😊 recently pains been getting worse so went to docs had a mri scan and been told I've got arthritis in my thumb and wrist bit early doc said for my age but that's life
Just wanted to know how things will be in like 20 years will they get to the point where I can't do anything with my hand

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums, Clay 116, from the moderation team.

I am very sorry to hear about thumb and wrist. The worst thing to hear I imagine for someone who likes to do weight lifting. You don’t say which type of arthritis you have been diagnosed with.

Initially it can feel a little as though we have to just put up with pain, but there are things which can be done to help such as physiotherapy and talking to others in the same boat is definitely one of them. Ultimately surgery may well be an option for you. Many people on here have had hand, thumb and wrist surgery.

If you haven’t read it already this link might be useful, it includes information about how to manage your joints well.

https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/living-with-arthritis/managing-pain

As moderators we are here to help with any issues you may have using the message boards so feel free to send us a message if you need to.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

Best wishes

Ellen
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options