Confused

Nikkijamie
Nikkijamie Member Posts: 34
edited 13. May 2017, 12:33 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello all
I have been floating in and out of the forum for a couple of years and although I don't post it's so helpful to read your thoughts and comments so thank you for helping others.

However I find myself needing some of your thoughts so I hope you don't mind.

Around 6 years ago (I was 30) I was told by my GP I had osteoarthritis in my hips. I was gixen Naproxen for when the pain got worse and it hasn't helped at all. I was sent to a Rheumatologist and there was no sign thankfully.

Over the years my pain has increased and now my left wrist is weak and painful, both my thumbs hurt and I can't grip very well nor can I write more than 2-3 sentences without being in pain. My ankles feel weak and painful and one gave way the other month. My knees are knackered as are my hips and my back (I have scoliosis) is agony.

I have got to the point where it's no longer bearable so I went to the GP today (new one who is lovely, the other one retired) and explained what was going on.

He has told me I don't have osteoarthritis in my hip just wear and tear. He has arranged for a multitude of blood tests to see what going on and also check for an iron issue which is prevelant in my cousin.

He has prescribed me Prednisolone to trial once I've hand my blood tests to see if it helps with the pain.

I guess I'm wondering if this makes sense to any of you. I feel so confused having accepted the osteoarthritis diagnosis and now it's not and what is really going on.

Thanks for reading and sorry it was so long.

Nikki

Comments

• Wobbly
    Wobbly Member Posts: 58
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Nikki
    Sorry to hear of your suffering. I too have oa hips spine neck feet carpal tunnel both arms bla bla bla .