Hip revisioning

Options
idris
idris Member Posts: 9
edited 16. Jun 2017, 06:40 in Living with Arthritis archive
Lots of questions to come on hip replacements, but to kick off just a small handful ...

Does anyone have experience of hip replacement revisioning? Especially anyone between 40 and 60yrs old.
What type of prosthesis needed revisioning?
What lead to the need for revisioning?
What type of revisioining did you have?
How long ago was the revisioning done?
What prognosis were you given?
Were the original and revisioning surgeries done privately or on the NHS?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi and welcome to the forum,I have no experience with hip surgery but there are many on here who have and they'd be happy to share the experience.
    Al
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    Options
    Hello Idris and welcome though I'm not sure we'll be a great deal of help to you as hip revisions are very few and far between on here. Let's try, though.

1. I've not had a hip revision but I've had a knee revision. My original TKRs were put in in 1981 when I was 35 (My OA came about as a result of many years of RA) and I had one of them revised about nine years ago when I was 62.

2. My original TKRs were the Leeds knee. I've no idea what type my THRs are. One is about 25 years old and the other about 15.

3. Old age led to the revision. It was 27 years old and had slid out of position.

4. I've no idea what type of revision I had. A very good one as it's never given me a day's problem.

5. I didn't ask for a prognosis. It had to be replaced so it was.

6. I've had all my surgery done on NHS, admittedly at an excellent teaching hospital. I would be very nervous of going private as I know people who did. I know there are some very good outcomes but I wouldn't chance it. I distrust the post-op care.