Hello from Newtownabbey

stepbar
stepbar Member Posts: 2
edited 24. Jun 2017, 14:36 in Say Hello Archive
Hi, I'm Stephen, I'm 48 and I'm an alcoholic. Oooops, sorry, wrong forum.

I've been having hip and ankle pain for over a year, went to the doctor when it spread to my shoulders. Now have severe pain in wrists and fingers, which is a problem as I work in IT. Anyway, work has been very good, and I've had a workplace assessment (I work from home) - they've recommended a full support chair, arm supports, screen risers, foot rest, dictation software etc. Couldn't ask for more!

I've literally taken my first MTX dose yesterday and really hoping it helps. I'm a bit terrified about the side effects, but I'll worry about those if they happen!

Feeling a bit isolated because of the pain - this time last year I'd have thought nothing of walking 10-15 miles a day. Now I get a sweat if I think about walking 10-15 yards!

Really hoping I can get some hints, tips and advice from this group.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Stephen,

It's easy to feel isolated when you are restricted getting out. My thinking is that it's hard to chat with your work mates when working from home though I've no experience to go on there.

You seem to have been well looked after by work and the NHS which is wonderful, we don't often get good stories here so extra good to hear yours.

I'm thinking you might have rheumatoid arthritis- because you are taking meth, here's a booklet produced by arthritis care about RA

https://arthritiscare.org.uk/assets/000/001/772/LivingWithRA_web_(050617)_original.pdf?1497273926

If that's not you just let us know what type of arthritis you are living with and I'll see what I can find!

Have a look round the forum and do join in anywhere you feel tempted, you will be made most welcome - and you won't be lonely

Looking forward to seeing you around,
    Take care
    Yvonne x
  • stickywicket