Unexplained answers

Options
Courtney1234
Courtney1234 Member Posts: 60
edited 24. Jul 2017, 08:46 in Young people's community
Hi I'm new to this but just looking for advice. I'm 19yrs old and For the past 2 years I've suffered with flare ups in my right knee. It becomes very swollen and now I always have a constant clicking /grinding sensation with I bend or move it, sometimes which can be very painful. I've had MRI scans but nothing has seemed to show up on them. I've recently been started in hydroxychloriquine and have been taken that for 3 weeks. I'm having a few side affects like headaches and nausea and not noticing improvement as of yet. I was supposed to have sulphazalaine but my rheumatology team noticed I have a constant and raised ana which is positive. What does this actually mean? Nobody has explained it to me. I also went to see a orthopaedic surgeon last month and they have decided to do one more course of physio (I've already have one and it made me very ill so I have no idea why they're giving it again) and if now better in 6mnths then they want to do knee arthscopy. I'm feeling like I've just been forgotten about and passed around as nobody has a clear diagnosis for my condition. I haven't had any support from anyone and I have no idea what is going to happen.
Sorry for the long post. Has anyone experienced similar?
Thanks
Courtney

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Courtney1234,

You poor love, it is hard anytime trying to get your head around the vagueness of the number of arthritis type conditions let alone someone young.

There are many on the forum who will help shed light on your blood results. It sounds like there is thought of an autoimmune arthritis is you are seeing a rheumatologist and have been given hydroxy and sulpha.