OA of shoulders

Options
Shaz
Shaz Member Posts: 7
edited 8. Sep 2017, 15:45 in Say Hello Archive
Hi all im new to all this but im hoping to get any ingo i can just recently diagnosed with OA of both shoulders really still in shock been told i have to look at having total dhoulder replacements has anyone had this how are things any info much appreciated

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi shaz
    Welcome to the forum, I too have OA but not in the shoulders as yet, I have had two knee replacements left and right and have just had a hip replacement all doing well and free of pain in those areas, also have it in the hands and spine,so I can sympathize with you.
    We are a friendly forum Chit chat and LWA being the mot popular so just choose and chat away you will be met with empathy and advice
    All the best Christine :D
  • Shaz
    Options
    Thankyou so much for your reply you must be in a lot of pain i feel for you as just having this inshoulders at minis very painful started on injections with a few side effects but have found sum improvement but dont no how long they will continue with them before i have to decide on surgery
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    Options
    I'm sorry to hear you have arthritis in your shoulders. I think shoulders are a difficult place to have it as it's so hard to rest them in positions that don't hurt.

I'm glad the injections help but don't rely on them too much as we can only have a limited number partly because they tend to be less effective the more we have but mainly because the steroids themselves would do damage if too many were taken.

Have you been given any exercises / seen a physio? That's a very useful way of keep up strength and range of movement. If you've only just been diagnosed I'd be surprised if replacements were offered quickly. Try the self-management route first :D