Methotrexate or Hydrox??

Options
Taratemperance
Taratemperance Member Posts: 23
edited 9. Oct 2017, 10:23 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all,

I was given Sulfasalazine as my first Dmard in Sep but the horrendous side effects made me stop them after 8 days. Now I have another appt with Rheumatologist Nurse on 19th Oct & been sent info on Methotrexate & Hydroxy.

Can anyone share with me which would have least likely side effects please? I do appreciate that we all respond to meds differently but I'm new to this and all info greatly received.

Many thanks x

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Probably hydroxy because it's probably the mildest of the DMARDS but that means the methotrexate is more likely to help the arthritis. I take both (no side effects). Hydroxy is more often than not prescribed alongside others. I've had no problems with either. Good luck :D
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Taratemperance
    Taratemperance Member Posts: 23
    Options
    Thank you Stickywicket, have you ever tried Sulfasalazine? Can you recall roughly how long it took the dmards to give you some respite from pain?

Many thanks :)
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    Options
    I've never done sulf. Unfortunately, I've been on meth and hydroxy for so many years now I can't remember how long it took but, even if I could, that would be of no help to you as we're all different and meds take different times to work with different people. We're always asked, with DMARDS, to allow 3 months.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Evie
    Evie Member Posts: 14
    Options
    Hi all,