PIP assessor lied and I was denied PIP

angeljs
angeljs Member Posts: 2
Hi, this is my first time here. I was finally diagnosed with arthritis in my hips after years of pain, and the doctor suspects I have it in my knees also. I have good days and bad days, but struggle to walk for very long and use a walking stick (or a wheelchair if I'm out shopping).

I applied for PIP without any great hopes of getting it, but was shocked when I received my rejection. The assessor told blatant lies on his assessment form. He stated that he'd carried out a physical musculoskeletal examination, when he did nothing of the kind. He also stated that I could get both arms behind my head and knees with no difficulty, which was impossible at the time as I'd damaged the rotator cuff in my left shoulder and could barely move my left arm. He also stated that I could get up and down from a seating position with no difficulty, which was also a lie.

I've been examined by doctors for both of these conditions and they would be able to confirm that these test could not have possibly been carried out successfully.

I asked for a mandatory reconsideration which was also rejected, as apparently it wasn't a good reason simply because I 'disagreed with the assessor', and I hadn't provided any evidence.

I've lodged an appeal, but can't afford to pay my doctor or the hospital for evidence, and they don't do it for free, because I asked.

If I'd been denied for legal, legitimate reasons, then I would have accepted it, but the fact that he lied has really irked me!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi angeljs,

Hi, it's always helpful to get a diagnosis for pain and discomfort and it shows you a general route re prognosis and treatment which is reassuring.

Here is the leaflet from Arthritis Care regarding PIP

https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/living-with-arthritis/financial-support-and-arthritis/personal-independence-payment-pip