New to arthritis

Options
BerkshireBen
BerkshireBen Member Posts: 3
edited 16. Feb 2018, 10:37 in Say Hello Archive
Hello to everyone! I'm new to the forum and also new to arthritis.

I was a self-employed builder and retired three years ago when I was 70. Up until that time I had had no problems with my knees, or any other joints. At seventy I was still climbing ladders and walking on roofs.

A couple of years ago I started getting pains in my knees, but thought it was lack of exercise. It has now got to the stage where it is painful to walk more than 20 or 30 yards. My GP has diagnosed arthritis and prescribed, naproxen.

Reading about arthritis has made me feel very anxious about my future. I feel I'm gradually losing my mobility and the thought of having a knee replacement frightens me even more.

I did not realize that arthritis can happen so quickly.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello BerkshireBen

Welcome to the forum from the moderation team. I am very sorry to hear that your GP has diagnosed you with arthritis, (presumably Osteoarthritis), in your knees and are struggling to walk very far without pain. Given that you were working in a physically demanding job so recently I can quite understand your feelings of anxiety.

I am attaching some links for you to read which I hope will allay some of your worries. This first one is by Arthritis Research UK and if you read through it you will see there are lots of treatments and self-help measures you can try between naproxen and surgery:

https://www.arthritisresearchuk.org/arthritis-information/conditions/osteoarthritis-of-the-knee.aspx

This link is an Arthritis care one and is about living with Arthritis lots of good ideas to help us live with the condition including exercise:

https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/living-with-arthritis