Say hello

Bolly
Bolly Member Posts: 3
edited 11. Jul 2018, 07:25 in Say Hello Archive
Hi Everyone
I was diagnosed with RA four years ago, it was a battle to get a diagnosis & i was relived. I had symptoms when I was 30, I am now 50. Since the initial diagnosis I have been told i also have OA in my knees and ankles. I now take Methotrexate 20mg & Amitriptyline 20mg at night, prescribed by my consultant Rheumatologist. I also take Diclofenac & dehyrdrocodeine but these are prescribed by my neurosurgeon.I am an ex nurse & have had 3 back surgeries,so also have chronic back pain. I had to leave nursing due to this.
I am here today as I wanted to ask if anyone has had issues with their consultant ? & if so what have they done about it. My issue is that she a!ways upsets me, I dread seeing her, she doesn't listen to me. She always without fail tells me to go to do aqua aerobics ! am I doing my Achilles stretches? When i say I struggle almost everyday to get up & go to work, because of the stiffness & pain & I have to wait over an hour before I can get down the stairs, she then says that's 'wear & year's nothing to do with Inflammation, she can't give me anymore drugs. I know all that but she just thinks I should get on with it. No offer of any other help or support. Yesterday I saw her & she said it's the menopause causing tiredness & fatigue, & my joint pains. I feel demoralised, I cried for the rest of the day & today I feel like I have no future. I struggle to work, clean & shop, I can't do gardening any more as I can't get up from the floor. I used to be able to walk my dog twice a day but lately my feet are so painful I can't do that.
I have a thyroid problem too & anxiety / depression. My consultant is Rheumatologist. I would be interested to know if anyone else has this issue & if so how they deal with it. I do always take my daughter with me to the appointments & she says that the consultant treats me badly. Can anyone suggest a way forward ?

Comments