Newbie Here!

SianT
SianT Member Posts: 7
edited 18. Jan 2019, 04:02 in Say Hello Archive
Morning everyone - my story so far......

About 6 weeks ago I noticed my feet were hurting when I got up in the morning, but just put it down to ‘one of those things’. Then one evening I felt a lot of pain in my hip, plus one of my fingers had swollen up and very sore. Since then things have gone downhill rapidly, I have pain just about everywhere, my knees, shoulders, hands, feet, wrists. I went to see my GP, she sent me for bloods and this week I had X-rays done. She says she can’t give me anything without a formal diagnosis from a Consultant, so I’ve just been taking Ibuprofen and Paracetamol to help with the pain. She suspects RA, but I’m worried about the damage being done while I wait for an appointment to be sent through, could be months?

I’m also under a huge amount of stress, I’ve been separated for 2 and a half years and my OH is pressurising me to sell the house/divorce - I also want to sell up, but now I feel so vulnerable with an illness too. My son is at Uni, so I’m on my own. My car broke down the other day, still waiting for it to be fixed, so having to walk everywhere with painful feet, plus work. I feel very depressed at the moment - I’m hoping once I get an official diagnosis and the right meds, life can get a bit better. I’m 56 and still have lots to give, but with the combination of feeling in pain, plus the stress of a divorce, I’m feeling awful.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Sian
    welcome to the forums it is lovely to have you here. You really are having a very rough time aren't you! Dealing with a divorce and moving house is stressful enough without adding in arthritis. It is not at all surprising that you feel awful and stressed, I can't imagine anyone feeling any differently.