Hello

Options
Ogrady87
Ogrady87 Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi all, I’m new to this and wanted to say hi.

I’m 31, I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis of the sterno-clavicular joint 2 years ago.

I had an operation in October to remove some bone in the left shoulder. I thought it would make everything better, but my right side has now gotten worse.

I’m going through a really difficult time..mentally.

I’ve been forced to self certify as disabled at work, as they tried to give me a warning for being off sick for my op. No one really understands what I’m going through, my friends think I’m a hypochondriac. I’m 31 and my husband sometimes has to was my hair because my arms won’t reach.

I’m trying my best to be happy every day. But I’m exhausted!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Ogrady87
    welcome to the forums, I am so sorry to hear you have been having such a difficult time, osteoarthritis of the sterno-clavicular joint is indeed very painful and it is not surprising that you are having a difficult time mentally. It is hard to adjust and because arthritis is a hidden condition people often don't see what is going on and make assumptions. It is hard to get people to understand what you are going through.
    We understand what you are going through and most of the members here will be able to share their experiences with you. Firstly I would recommend that you try hard not to be too hard on yourself. Would it be possible for you to speak to your doctor about getting some good pain killer in place so that you can get a better nights sleep, it may be that you are experiencing fatigue as well as tiredness so pacing yourself will help.