Hello Im a Newbie

Options
Jules70
Jules70 Member Posts: 65
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hello,

Im a newbie to this site and this is my first post
Here is my story so far:

In May 2017 i started with Right knee pain,out of the blue,and started having difficulty squatting ,kneeling and my knee felt very unstable.
I was working as a home support worker. at the time,and was struggling with physical aspects of m job.
I was referred to see a physio, who advised i needed to go back to my GP who referred myself for a MRI scan.
I had to wait 6 weeks for a scan, which revealed i had a tear to my medial meniscus ,knee bursitus and a sprain to one of my ligaments.
Following the scan i was referred to an orthopaedic surgeon after 10 week wait,and was told i would have to have an Arthroscopy as a day case to investigate my knee pain.
On Nov 5th 2018 i went in to have my op.
I had to take 3 months off work and subsequently got put on half pay by my employer,which caused myself alot of hardship.
I didnt return to see the surgeon until January 2019 and i had a 7 week wait after my surgery,to see anybody at hospital.
After my op i wasnt seen by medical team,and had no idea what the findings were until i saw the surgeon.
In January i was told by my surgeon that there was no tear to my meniscus and i had stage 3 Oesteoarthiritis in my patellarfemoral joint and in the medial compartment of my knee.
This came as a huge shock, as i had no idea this was the cause of my knee pain.
I was given cortisone injection in my knee at the surgery and consequently have had further 2 injections since then,but with no affect.
I was told by the consultant i needed to change my job,as i was struggling with the physical side of it and also i was doing alot of driving at time, which wasnt helping my knee.
Whilst i was off work post op,i went for an interview to my local hospital, as it is only 10 mins away from where i live.