Hello from me, thunderstruck by news...

Options
Lennel
Lennel Member Posts: 2
edited 15. Feb 2020, 06:46 in Living with arthritis
Hello to you all and thank you for this wonderful forum.

In a nutshell: a couple of months ago I thought I'd fractured a finger. A couple of weeks ago, the same thing happened with two more. Boney bumps began to appear and now I've got three of them, all of a sudden, with the kind of pain that I associated with minor breaks.

Went to the doctor who asked me how long I'd had pain. Well, said I, I hurt all over and have for years, putting it all down to spondylosis in the neck vertebrae which began in 2000. She sent me to X-ray and lo, as you will all have guessed, I have fairly bad osteorartritis of the hands, and the ankles, as well as the spine.

I am a writer. I don't know what to do, as typing is my living. At 58, with teenage children, I need to keep on earning for at least another decade.

Does anyone have similar experience?

Can anyone suggest anything that might help? I am trying to keep my spirits up, and embark on a new chapter - ha! - but would be incredibly grateful for any wisdom and advice.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,719
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Lennel, I'm sorry. That's what arthritis does - it spreads.

I've always written in one form or another - cricket reports, poetry, literary mags - all on an amateur basis but I know how I'd feel if couldn't.

The big improvement for me was when hefty typewriter keys morphed into light keyboard ones.

Several people on here have used voice recognition software. Admittedly, most dislike it but any port in a storm. Worth a try?
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    Options
    Hello lennel,

Welcome to the forum, great to meet you, pity about osteoarthritis in the hands though :wink: