Newbie here

Options
Squizzlebee
Squizzlebee Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi all,

I've browsed the website for a while but i'm new to the forum so thought I would say hello. I will try to keep this as short as possible.

I guess my journey started in April, although i've had lower back pain for years. I started getting a lot of pain at night in my lumbar spine, with muscle spasms and leaving me feel like if i moved wrong or turned over in bed I would get stuck. No luck getting in at the doctor after repeatedly trying, so I self referred to physiotherapy. I then got referred to an MRI after the excercises I was given made things a lot worse. When the results were in, the doctor that referred me called and said there was clear signs of arthritis in L4-5, I then got a letter saying my MRI was clear, and no further action was needed.

I'm feeling really disheartened at the moment, I know people can struggle for years to get a diagnosis and that I'm no exception, but 6 months and back to what felt like square one got to me. The letter was so inaccurate regarding my symptoms and things like job role that I contacted them. Had a meeting yesterday and just feel like I have been dismissed, and that I was a nuisance. When I asked for a copy of my MRI results it says moderate facet arthropathy in L4-S1 (and a disc bulge at L4). But they don't seem to be taking me seriously and insist that no-ones MRI is normal, and that I should just do physio and be more active.