im a newbie here

Options
Chelseafc2020
Chelseafc2020 Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
dear all
my name is kaz, i have had an injury hence the reason why i am off work, i have been off work since with osteoarthritis and meniscus knee tear, my knee is swollen cant get a decent nights sleep just have nightmares all the time
i have been off work since september 2018
i cannot stand too long or walk far distance, its very frustrating and annoying, instead of my consultant helping me just says i have to lose weight all the time, i feel he just dont care .
i cant bend down with my knee, cant kneel down when i make my bed im on universal credit who only give me 200 pounds a month for myself and bills, i really want to go back to work as i work in a nursing home as a senior care assistant
im on amitriptyline but not really helping and got physio on 24th october

please does anyone have any advise for me

katerina

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Kaz,

Welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear how much you've been suffering and how difficult you are finding daily life.

If you follow this link to information on osteoarthritis and scroll down there is a section on coping with sleep problems and also some stretching and strengthening exercises, which may be worth trying until you see the physio, who will hopefully be able to suggest specific exercises for you:

https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/conditions/osteoarthritis-of-the-knee/

There is more detail about the idea of sleep hygiene here:
    https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/managing-symptoms/sleep/